Review of Empress of the Seven Hills by Kate Quinn


Kate Quinn has outdone herself with this story. It was one of those books that I read quickly until I realized I was getting close to the last chapter – then I slowed down because I didn’t want the story to end. The pace is terrific with just enough detail to fill in the gaps of the “mental movie” that plays in my head while I read – I could picture the characters and locations clearly – but the detail didn’t slow the story down one bit.

I know my Roman history (it’s an odd fascination of mine) and Quinn brings the time period to life with a deft hand. The story is entertaining, but some reviewers called it depressing on Amazon – I thought it was an accurate portrayal of the time with character that were plausible set in situations that were most likely common. It is a sweeping, epic story that will satisfy not only those who know that history, but those who are looking for a great introduction. Quinn’s work is “lighter” than Colleen McCullough’s Masters of Rome series, but if you liked McCullough, you’ll love Quinn.

The Empress of the Seven Hills was a terrific journey into ancient Rome and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoyed her other books or Colleen McCullough’s Masters of Rome series.

Leave a Reply

