Review of Graveyard Shift (Lana Harvey, Reapers Inc.) by Angela Roquet


At first, I thought “oh no, another book with a complicated world”; then I realized I read twenty-five pages without moving and couldn’t put the book down! It is so well crafted that I devoured this story – every moment I had to read was spent journeying into Eternity with Lana, Josie, Gabriel and Maalik. There were moments of “uh-oh, what’s coming next” and moments of laugh out loud funny scenes (the one where the dove flies in and stumbles through the landing issuing a “pained coo” was still funny the third time I read it – even my husband chuckled when I insisted on reading that scene to him).

This story is clear, concise, and thoroughly entertaining. Not only does Roquet have a decent command of most of the major religions, she manages to give voice to all of the working-stiffs who just can’t seem to get some respect. It’s a fascinating story of “what if” and a unique take on the many after-lives we all want to believe in.

If you’re an urban fantasy and paranormal fan, this is definitely a great read that will keep you interested from beginning to end. I can’t wait to read the next one!

Leave a Reply

