A new pet peeve (as if I needed another one)

R. Leonia Shea

I’ve been trolling Amazon reading book blurbs from other indie authors and I have noticed a trend that disturbs me. Does this trend appear to be working? Will people buy their books because of the burning questions? Is there a better way to write a blurb?

Are you getting my point?

As I sigh dramatically, I wonder how much effort it really is to take a moment and tell about the book rather than asking a question you think the reader will be dying to find out – my conclusion is: Not much effort at all.

As a reader, I read because I like the description – not because I need answers. The questions are not questions I would ask the author about their book.

Will they get the crooks or die trying?

Will the cake fall and ruin her career as a pastry chef?

I really don’t care because…

View original post 218 more words

Leave a Reply

